A Unitarian Universalist Multigenerational Ministry Resource

Communicating With the Masses

I am of Generation X.  I grew up in a home where our phone was located on the wall of the kitchen.  The cord was about 30 feet long, enabling us to talk in the other room if we stretched it far enough.   I was sometimes caught passing written notes to friends in class.  When it was time for dinner, my mom yelled my name out the front door and I came home. I went to college with a word processor and checked my mailbox in the campus mailroom every day for letters from my family and friends.  I listened to my favorite songs when the DJ was kind enough to play them on the radio, and watched my dad read the newspaper each night for the news.  These were the ways people communicated.

Today, I communicate via email, text message, cell phone, my ipod, and Facebook.  For my children, this is as normal to them as the telephone with the ridiculously long cord was to me. 

Communicating with people from multiple generations can be difficult.  Is there one sure-fire way to communicate with our children, youth, adults, and elders?  Do we need to transmit important information in a variety of ways?

What has been your experience?  What has worked for you or your congregation in an effort to reach all of our members, with their varied connection to technology.  Please share!!

 

Comments on: "Communicating With the Masses" (1)

  1. Thank you, Kim, for a well-written blog on the topic which I requested!

    I’m also a Gen X’er, but not quite as savvy as Kim with technologies. To me, I liken today’s tech-communication modes to a variety of languages. The more of these “languages” we speak, the more “cultures” ie classes, generations, ages, etc. with whom we can successfully communicate. You have to be motivated to gain fluency in them all!

    The wisest response to this question also prompts the biggest sigh. That is: The greater the variety of modes we use, the more people will hear us.

    In this age of multi-communication, multi-fluency, and ever-morphing modes, good ideas are worth a lot.

    All that said, we have found that our FaceBook group page for our congregation has come to life in the last few months. Our minister and board president post regularly, and have interesting things to say, so interest and dialogue in that forum has shot up.

    Contrast that with the fact that when you really want to be heard and responded to, taking the time to make phone calls beats sending a mass email.

    I am not yet a texter, tweeter, or blogger. Probably will be at least one of those before long, though!

    I hope others will chime in!

Leave a Reply

